You probably know that in New York State, you’re required to keep your hands on the wheel at all times. But what are the other laws that apply? Let’s take a look.
Here are a few of the most important ones to remember:
- You must use your turn signals when turning or changing lanes.
- You must yield the right of way to pedestrians and other vehicles when making a turn.
- You’re not allowed to use your cell phone while driving unless you use it for hands-free purposes.
Breaking any of these laws can result in fines, points on your driver’s license, or even jail time. So be sure to familiarize yourself with New York’s driving laws and always obey them while behind the wheel.
Overview of New York State Driving Laws
If you’re a New York driver, it’s important to be up-to-date on the state’s laws. That’s why we’ve put together this overview of the most important ones.
For starters, in New York, you must always keep your driver’s license while driving. You also need to be aware of the state’s seat belt laws. All passengers in New York must wear a seat belt, regardless of their age or position.
You could face fines and other penalties if caught driving without your license or wearing a seat belt.
Licensing Requirements for Drivers
When it comes to licensing requirements for drivers in New York State, there are a few things that you need to know.
To get your driver’s license, you must be at least 16 years old and have taken an officially approved driver’s course, as well as pass a written test and a road test.
If you are under 18 years old, your driver’s license will be valid for only 5 years. If you are over 18, your driver’s license will be valid for 8 years.
To keep your driver’s license, you must comply with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) regulations. These regulations include maintaining insurance and paying traffic tickets.
Laws on Seatbelts, Cell Phone Use, and Drunk Driving
There are a few New York State driving laws that you should be aware of before you hit the road.
One law requires all passengers to buckle their seat belts. Another ban is cell phone use, including talking, texting, and using apps, while driving. And finally, as you are aware, it is illegal to drive while impaired by alcohol or drugs.
Be sure to familiarize yourself with these laws before you take your car out for a spin—they could save your life.
General Speed Limit Laws in the State
It’s important to remember the speed limit laws in New York State. Generally, the speed limit on highways and freeways is 65 miles per hour on rural highways, 55 MPH on urban highways, and 45 MPH on most residential area roads.
It is important to note that in New York City, the speed limit is 25 MPH, unless otherwise posted.
Additionally, like any state, you need to be vigilant of the signs that indicate a change in the speed limit, since different areas may have other limits and regulations. For instance, some school zones may be posted at 20 miles per hour or 15 miles per hour, so you must always check for signs when driving through the towns.
Another thing to keep in mind is that some highways will have varying speed limits based on weather conditions and traffic patterns. If a highway has a variable speed limit, then signs will display these changes during peak times to reduce traffic congestion and increase safety for drivers.
Unlicensed Driver Privileges and Penalties
In New York, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license. If you are pulled over and found to have no license, you can be fined up to $300.
If you are an unlicensed driver and are involved in an accident involving injury or death, you can face fines of up to $5,000 and jail time. Additionally, if your unlicensed driving leads to property damage, you may be required to pay restitution for the costs of repair.
Bottom line is that driving without a valid license carries serious consequences that could leave you with hefty fines and jail time.
Teenage Driver’s Laws in New York State
Any driver under 18 must maintain a scrupulously clean record for at least six months before being able to apply for a Driver’s License.
Drivers under 18 are also required to take part in the Graduated Driver Licensing program, which means that they need to get additional training and more practice hours before earning an unrestricted license. Additionally, younger drivers will also be asked to complete a defensive driving course and obtain parental permission before they can get their licenses.
Note that all drivers under 21 are automatically enrolled in the Zero Tolerance Law which states that any driver found with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Level) of .02 or higher will be immediately arrested and face consequences of jail time, fines, license suspension, and/or revocation. Bottom line – Just don’t do it!
New York State has a variety of driving laws that motorists must obey. Some of these laws are obvious, such as driving while intoxicated. Others, like the law requiring motorists to use their turn signals, may not be as obvious. Pay close attention to the signs when entering a town or city, especially New York City where the driving laws are much more strict.
Failing to obey these laws can result in fines and, in some cases, imprisonment.